Gang Stalking World

United we stand. Divided they fall.

Free speach is dead.

Free speech really is dead.

I took the time back in August for a moment to tune
into the Canadian political scene. I noticed what I
felt were the outrageous actions of the liberal party in
asking a member of their team to resign, or rather
lambasting him till he felt the need to resign because
he had the outlandish opinion to say that he felt that
we should:

http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNews/story/CTVNews/200
60819/mideast_MP_060821?s_name=&no_ads=

[quote]Wrzesnewskyj said Monday he favours changing
Canada’s laws that forbid any contact with known
terrorist organizations. He said the law undermines
efforts to seek lasting peace between Israel and
Hezbollah guerrillas after a brutal 33-day war.

But Hezbollah’s terrorist status should not change, he
said in an interview from Lebanon.

“I’ve said all along that Hezbollah is a terrorist
organization and will continue to be,” Wrzesnewskyj
said. “Where I have difficulty is with the legislation
that says a group on the list cannot be communicated
with.”
[/quote]
Now agree or disagree with this sentiment in a free and
democratic society he should have been allowed to have
a dissenting view and to not have been asked to resign,
however that was not the case. He was lambasted by some
of his fellow liberals, primarily members like the
Honourable Dr Carolyn Bennett, and eventually felt
forced to tender his resignation, which was happily
accepted by Bill Graham the interim leader for the
liberal party.

He was not offering funding, or saying we should
support terrorism, he was being farsighted in realising
that just like negotiations with the IRA we might
someday have to have conversations with group like this
if we are to achieve lasting peace in the middle east. 
Instead his opinion was viewed in the most negative way
possible and he was forced to resign his position.
There were so many things in my opinion wrong with
these actions. Even if a conservative MP had made such
statements I doubt he would have been asked to resign.

However this was a liberal MP making this statement and
he was forced out of his position.
I was so incensed by the complete lack of backbone this
party was showing that I felt the need to write a
letter immediately. Ever since the sponsorship scandal
the party has shown a lack of backbone and they are
continually walking on egg shells to improve their
image, however in my opinion this is doing nothing for
their image or making me likely to vote for them until
such time as they do regain a back bone.

Anyways, I wrote a letter to Bill Graham expressing my
disappointment in his accepting the resignation and I
wrote a letter to Mr Wrzesnewskyj to support his right
to have an opinion without then having to feel the need
to resign because of it. In a free democratic society
it’s my opinion that such things should not happen.

However in our increasing move towards police state
this does not seem to be the case, more times than not.
Well I can tell you that I was disappointed to not hear
back from either party. However in Mr Wrzesnewskyj case
I am not clear on if he was still getting his email
after resigning from his position.

 I was however happy to receive in my mail box a couple
of weeks this letter.

[quote]
—–Original Message—–
From:

dialogue_diplomacy_peacekeeping_we_support_borysw@hotma

il.com
To:

dialogue_diplomacy_peacekeeping_we_support_borysw@hotma

il.com
Sent: Fri, 1 Sep 2006 4:12 PM
Subject: Letters of Support
Dear Madam or Sir,
 
As you are no doubt aware Borys Wrzesnewskyj M.P. took
a principled stand on the most recent war in the Middle
East for which he has paid a political price, resigning
as the Associate Critic for Foreign Affairs. If you are
interested in writing a letter of support regarding
Borys’ position please send one to the individuals
below or refer to the example letters attached to this
e-mail.
 
Hon. Bill Graham, P.C., M.P.
Interim Liberal Leader
grahab@parl.gc.ca
(613) 992-5234 tel.
 
Hon. Ralph Goodale, P.C., M.P.
Opposition House Leader
goodar@parl.gc.ca
(613) 996-4743
 
Hon. Karen Redman, P.C., M.P.
Whip
redmak@parl.gc.ca
(613) 995-8913
 
cc. Borys Wrzesnewskyj M.P.
wrzesb@parl.gc.ca
 
Regards,
 
Friends of Borys
[/quote]

I decided to resend out my letters again expressing my
deep disappointment at this liberal who was no longer
allowed to have free speech in a democratic society or
a dissenting opinion without having to resign. At least
in Russia they just sent you to Siberia.

I never did hear back from any of the people I wrote to
once again, and clearly the letter writing campaign
that this poster tried to start had no affect in
getting these critical individuals to change their
minds.

I think it’s sad that free speech and our once
democratic society is no longer. I again look back to
how things were not such a long time ago and I again
think of how much the world had changed, and I realise
it’s not for the better.

Dissenting views and opinions are being silenced at all
levels of society and it’s a shame that this is the
case.

I am however thrilled to see that there are a few
people who still are willing to not go along with this.
I hope more people will start to wake up to the reality
of how truly one sided things are becoming in our society.
Free speach and the right to dissenting views are what make
a free society and democratic society such, and when this
is not the case, then your society has become something
that is quite the opposite.

December 10, 2006 - Posted by | Politics

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

