Gang Stalking World

United we stand. Divided they fall.

Amnesty International Hypocrisy?

For years I have been a member of Amnesty International, I have written numerous letters in support of their various causes. I generally think they are a good organization who help a lot of people. When I began to realise what I was going through was something called gang stalking and other targets had written to them and not received any assistance, I was a little bit surprised, so I thought I would write to them and see what the score was.

Below is the response that I received regarding my inquiry about their policy for assisting targets of gang stalking. OK no big deal, psychological torture that drives targets to suicide, or gets them falsely institutionalised is out of their realm, I get that. Cool whatever. That was August 18, 2006.

[quote]
  Dear Friend,

  Thank you for your e-mail to Amnesty International Australia.

  Amnesty International exists to undertake impartial research and action
  focused on preventing and ending grave abuses of human rights.    Our
  main focus is on particular types of systemic or entrenched human rights
  abuse.  These include the rights to physical and mental integrity (such
  as torture and the death penalty), the rights to freedom of conscience
  and expression (such as imprisonment for expressing your political
  views), and freedom from discrimination (such as patterns of violence
  against women).

  I have read your message and have considered whether the matters raised  are ones with which Amnesty International can assist.  I am sorry to   advise that your concern does not fall within Amnesty International’s   mission and hence we will not be able to assist you.

  I regret that we are unable to take this matter further for you and wish
  you well with your efforts to have your concerns addressed.

  Thank you for your inquiry.

  Best Regards,

  Amber Maxwell
Supporter Liaison Officer
Amnesty International Australia
29 Shepherd St, Chippendale, NSW
Locked Bag 23, Broadway, NSW 2007
e-mail: hello@amnesty.org.au
Ph: 1300 300 920
Fax: +61 2 9217 7663

Help Stop Violence Against Women! Become a Human Rights Defender.
Call 1300 300 920 or visit  www.amnesty.org.au

[/quote]

Then however based on the above response I wrote them back about their policy on electronic harassment. No response. I waited a week. Oh the above response had taken only 48 hrs to receive. I wrote them again about electronic harassment, which I am sure their guidelines do cover. No response. Waited 2 weeks wrote them back again. I finally called and left a message.

The girl on the phone seemed dumb founded and took a message, with my exact question regarding their policy and said that she would ha ve someone call me or email me with the response to my inquiry. They called back, but not with a response, they called to say that I should call them between 9-5. Mon – Fri. However the line I called was a 24 hrs line. OK.

I left it for a few days and then called them back. This is after I sent off an email again specifically to the Toronto and Ottawa division of Amnesty International. When I called the Toronto office, I was referred to the Ottawa office, cause Toronto did not know. She said to speak to Hilary at extension 247. I called was transferred to Natasha in their donations department, she said the calls get transferred when Ottawa is out on lunch, but she really felt that I should be speaking to the Toronto office. I explained that I was just transferred from there, she asked if I would like to leave a message, with my inquiry. Explained that I had already done this, and they had called to leave a message saying to call during this time period. She could not answer the question clearly. I said I would call back in a bit. I called back Ottawa an hour or so later, the guy on the phone who answered said he was well versed on policy and would be able to answer a simply policy question. I asked what their policy is on electronic harassment weapons. Eg. Microwave weapons to be precise. (These are also called none lethal weapons, I don’t see what’s so none lethal about them, they cause pain, and will give a target cancer with enough exposure.) He also seemed dumb founded, and could not answer the question, and refers me to extension Denise at extension 249. I of course get her answering machine where I await an answer.

The thing that I find frustrating about Amnesty is that for years I have been writing letters to politicians about various causes in support of Amnesty, and now when I want a simple answer from them, I almost have to go on a letter writing campaign of my own to get a simple response. I am pretty sure that Amnesty based on the above letter is suppose to cover this form of harassment, I am sure that confirming this in a letter is not going to crumble the whole organisation into the ground. I genuinely feel that after over a month and a half of follow up and trying to get a response from them, that they are genuinely avoiding the issue. I find this to be shameful, and hypocritical because this is the same BS, I have had to write to politicians on their behalf, when they would use staling practices, or not take a cause seriously enough. The latest being the situation in Darfur.

Now I do understand that the imminent danger of being chopped up to death, by roving militia does not compare to a slow and painful death, by cancer causing none lethal weaponry, but a response from this organisation is all that I am asking for. I just find it pitiful and shameful, I have always supported them throughout the years, and now when I am not even asking for support at this stage, just asking for their policy on the issue, I can’t even get a response. This is what other organisations, and politicians do to them, now it seems to be what they are doing. If this is the case I want to say that I find it to be hypocritical and shameful.

October 8, 2006 - Posted by | Gang Stalking

1 Comment »

  1. Bless you for your concern for Darfur. Join us and we-the-citizens will stop the Genocide. No one else can. No one else will.
    Several of us have decided to begin a RESCUE DARFUR FAST. One of us began 5 days ago, and several others today. Links below for the details.
    Nothing less than a worldwide fast-until-the-genocide-stops will be enough to stop it.
    Nothing less will be a sufficient moral response.
    Nothing less will preserve our humanity, yours and mine.
    Please consider linking (below) to increase the visibility of this effort.
    Jay McGinley jymcginley@cs.com
    Day 134 Darfur Vigil at White House; Day 68 Rescue Darfur Fast (since July 4, 2006)
    DARFUR Dying for Heroes
    http://darfurdyingforheroes.blogspot.com
    (you would find this a helpful resource)
    Please consider linking here to increase the visibility of this effort.

    http://darfurdyingforheroes.blogspot.com/2007/09/join-rescue-darfur-fast-till-it-stops.html
    http://darfurdyingforheroes.blogspot.com

    Comment by Jay McGinley | October 8, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

